Some people believe government can spend money on building train and subway lines to reduce traffic congestion. Others think that building wider roads are the better way to reduce traffic congestion. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Traffic congestion is a controversial issue which has gained a great deal of attention, especially from mass media due to its detrimental impact on humanity. There has been a growing belief that utilizing government budget for constructing railway and subway transportation is an optimal solution, whereas others think that widen roads system is a better way to reduce traffic jam. In my perspective, both views has its specific advantage that need taking into consideration.

On the one hand, it is suggested that a huge decrease in traffic-related problems result from the development of railways and tramlines. Firstly, a huge number of citizens can be cut down from the road, as they are provided with a wide variety of choices in methods of travelling. Hence, residents are no longer at the mercy of private means of transports and willing to opt for mass transit, which leads to less bustling roads. For example, a modern railways recently built in Bien Hoa city has attracted local publicity since people flock to this public transport and less motorcycles are seen on busy highways. Furthermore, the available roads are considered adequate enough to meet the needs of those who travel by other means, which strikes a balance and saves government’s budget as well.

On the other hand, opponents claim that spending money on constructing more spacious road is a better alternative to approach traffic jams. The main reason lies in individuals’ convenience, since there is no doubt that people prefer to utilize their own cars, bikes and motorcycles out of interests. For instance, children have a tendency to go to school on foot, rather than taking a long route to reach station when their schools are within walking distance from home. The same situation is applied for adults and employees, as long as their working and studying place is not too far a way. In addition, it is undeniable that most residents opted for flexibility due to the fact that they can effortlessly manage their time on widened streets, especially when it comes to dropping by convenience store in a hurry.

In conclusion, both solutions possess a certain benefits that should be carefully deliberated. In my opinion, taking advantage of creating new railway/subway lines are likely to bring about a better consequence, as not only did it helps us save national budgets, but it also ameliorates the environmental controversy.