Some people believe government should spend money on building train and subway lines to reduce traffic congestion. Others think that building more and wider roads is the better way to reduce traffic congestion. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are different views about what is the best measure to solve traffic problems. While some people believe that money should be spent on the development of roads, I would argue that improving public transport is the best way to deal with traffic jam.

Firstly, allocate money to ameliorating trains and buses can deter people from using personal vehicles. By building more stops and improving the facilities of public transport, these means of transport will become more appealing to people and therefore shifting people's habits from driving cars to using trains and buses. For example, many of my friends said that they would love to commute by buses if the waiting time between to buses shorter.

Secondly, public transport is way more convenient and much cheaper than personal vehicles. Because trains do not have to go through intersections or traffic lights, while there are special lanes for buses so they are always on time and are the quickest way to traveling in city center. Moreover, public transport is capable of carrying many people all at once, which is much more efficient than individuals vehicles.

Lastly, the development of public transport also improve people's health and reduce environmental contamination. Some people might argue that spending money on the improvement of roads will solve traffic problems instantly. Howerver, more and wider roads will also encourage people to purchase personal vehicles, which leads to more traffic jams. Additionally, by changing people's commute habits, the amounts of polluted gases that are produced by cars will decrease, which results in a better living conditions.

In conclusion, I reaffirm my opinion that money should be allocated to the development of public transport rather than upgrading roads.