Some people believe government should spend money on building train and subway lines to reduce traffic congestion. Others think that building more and wider roads is the better way to reduce traffic congestion. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Opinion are divided on whether government should increase investment in building more and wider roads to decrease traffic congestion or whether they should put more emphasis on constructing rail transport and underground trains. While I understand why some people support the former view, I am still in favour of the latter.

I understand why some people believe that the increase in number and width of the roads can have positive impacts on traffic gridlock. From their point of view, it is obvious that building more roads means vehicles will distribute reasonably rather than cram on one street only. To put it in a simpler way, the more roads are constructed, the fewer vehicles are on the each street. Besides, wider roads will also help lessen the dense of traffic in comparison with small roads. In particular, wide roads allow multiple people to commune to work more easily instead of jamming on small streets at a time. The result of this is the considerable improvement in traffic jam.

Nevertheless, I still side with those who believe that trains and subways lines should be invested more by the government. Travelling by these means of transportation leads to the decrease in private vehicles use since trains can carry a large number of people at a time. As a result, traffic congestion can be no longer a popular concern. In addition, we can guarantee the number of roads that is sufficient for the continuous increase in vehicles in the years to come. Therefore, making improvement on public transportation such as subway lines and trains can be a solution in the long run.

In conclusion, despite acknowledging why people think it is necessary to emphasize on building more and wider roads, I hold the believe that traffic congestion can be improved better by constructing more rail transport.