nowadays, more and more people decide to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

It is becoming increasingly popular for students to attend foreign education in recent years. This can bring both positive and negative implications.

On one hand, although studying abroad is costly, its benefits can compensate the financial loss. To begin with, oversea students believe that studying in a foreign country is the best way to improve language proficiency. This allows them to use the foreign language on a regular basis. As a result, those who are educated abroad, though at first find it challenging to keep up to a conversation with native speakers, experience their language skills accelerated significantly afterward. Apart from this, a multitude of students claim that they become more independent of family since they are away far from home, which is a great chance to develop interpersonal skills. In particular, skills of financial management and problem solving are enhanced as these students no longer rely on their parents helps. It is reported that oversea students become more mature, comparing to theirs peers in home country.

On the other hand, attending foreign school can also bring several drawbacks. Firstly, culture shock usually happens when students the first time visit new country, simply because of cross-culture misunderstand. This can lead to stress and loneliness for quite a number of students in the first few months, or even worse that some of them withdraw from foreign school and return with their family. More importantly, studying abroad often places a financial burden on many people. Therefore, students receiving oversea education find the need to have a job, which helps them to pay for tuition fee and living expenses. However, this may lead to distraction from schoolwork as these students are unable to balance between work and studying. Some students also report to be sweated in the strange land.

In conclusion, while studying abroad can be popular for its huge benefits, it can have several downsides as well.