An increasing number of schools provide tablets and laptop computers for students to use in school, replacing books and other printed materials like exams and assignments.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

In a technology-driven age where institution are supplementing exams and homework with gadgets such as tablets and laptop computers to the traditional methods. Students can always solve their academic problems by using google . However, it does not allow them to have good problem- solving skills.

The merits of students having laptop and tablet computers are numerous. Firstly, it allows the students to solve their academic problems on their own through the use of google. This however, helps them to be self dependent and can expand their knowledge by reading wider thereby learning new skills and innovations. Secondly, they can form online discussion groups where they can share ideas, opinions and views concerning their academics and future careers. Finally, it encourages them to test themselves and find out their progress on individual subject as the internet as various apps which can enhance these activities.

Nevertheless, there are disadvantages of this modern method to the traditional method. It does not allow good problem solving skills as the kids are addicted to the gadgets and cannot generate ideas readily on their own without the use of the apps. Furthermore, they cannot form good team working skills as they believe the computer is an answer to most of their problems and so it is unprofitable to build friendship and relationships. More so, most science subjects such as physics and chemistry needs practical learning in the laboratory. This can not be effectively carried out for adequate understanding in the internet therefore the students will benefit more from physical tutorials, backup assignments, and task.

To sum up, the classroom being replaced with modern gadgets will not be more beneficial to the growth of the students but it should be used together with the traditional wat of learning to enhance effective educational system.