Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development?

Online study is considered to be a new educational trend that a plethora of global tertiary institutions are offering these days. However, the question of whether it is worthy or not is arguably the most debatable one. I believe that online learning has huge benefits and this essay will discuss both sides of this contentious issue and draw a concluding view.

On one hand, there is no doubt that online studies have made a conspicuous impact on many students worldwide. Firstly, it offers easy access which means it can be conducted through the Internet at any part of the world at any time. This feature allows people who have a tight busy schedule to strengthen their education by studying anywhere at their free-time. For instance, my uncle who is an assistant director in his office enrolled in a 2 years program in the National open University of Nigeria. He comfortably combined work and study and at the end of the course bagged a distinction.

Secondly, it is considered to be cheaper option for a lot of individuals as it saves the cost of travelling and relocating. Finally, internet learning is applicable to all ages. Undoubtedly, lots of older people might have greater free time than younger ones and utilizing this facility to learn something new would be a plus for them.

On the other hand, internet education has some demerits. Lack of frequent face to face interactions between teachers, students and other colleagues might lead to unpleasant results and this interaction motivates student during their study. Furthermore, studying in a class with other students provides astonishing opportunities to acquire some experiences and boost their skills. Nevertheless, online learning is not suitable for all subjects. For instance, there are several subjects that needs hands-on practice

and experiments to be taught such as chemistry, physics and so on.

To sum up, online education is a new study style which in my opinion has various profitable advantages that ate beneficial to students over the traditional method.