Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development?
The author of this topic makes an assertion that online courses are now offered by
some universities in order to make there courses available towards more number of people.
In this essay I will try to highlight both pros and cons of this development and try to
provide sound reasoning for my claims.
On one hand, there are two main positive sides of this development.First of all,
this offer will be cost effective. In other words, as the online courses require
less amount, more number of people can enroll in these online courses. For instance, according to
Indian Institute of Management, which is a global institute, 30% more people enrolled
for there Post Graduate Diploma course in 2019 as compared to last year,2018. Secondly,
the online course will be effective. In other words, people can access these course from
their houses and so that they would not have to leave their families. For example,
as per U.S Time report, more than 40% U.S citizen had enrolled for online courses after marrige.
Therefore, it is clear that online course has certain benefits which has positive impacts.
On the other hand, there are also some disadvantages of this offerings. Firstly,
over internet some topics may not be clear as compared to on campus study. It means, some people
may not understand some topics via online courses. They will not get the opportunity to talk or
discuss their problems with their peers as well as proffesors. For instance, as per a recent poll
on facebook about the online courses, 10% more people are interested to attent university on campus study
rather than online study. Moreover, in online courses people may have less focus towards their study. In other words,
as there will be no study environment, people may loose their focus from their study . In addition,
as they can access the courses from anytime, they may be unable to concentrate in their study.
For example, 30% more people, who opted the online courses in 2017, failed in their courses as compared to classroom or on capus
study in University of Waterloo, which is the most popular university in Canada.
To conclude, it can be reiterated that although there are some negative development of online
course study, the positive effects for the same can not be denied. Thus, online course study has
equal positive and negative impacts.