Some people believe that hobbies need to be difficult to be enjoyable. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is not uncommon to hear that people consider any activity as hobby only if it involves difficult activities and tasks. In my opinion, such views fail to understand the meaning of hobby and I cannot bring to agree with such arguments.

To start with, an activity qualifies to be a hobby if it entertains the participants of that activity. What it really means is any activity irrespective of its simplicity or complexity, would amount to hobby if people enjoy performing such activities, derive entertainment from such tricks. That’s why it is difficult to agree with such people who might think that hobbies need to involve complex activities.

Additionally, it is perfectly right to have very simple and ordinary hobbies such as running, or playing cards at home or playing computer games. In the case of computer games, many young people spend hours before computer and enjoy the activities thoroughly. There is hardly any element of hard labour in it. Therefore, this simple example clearly demonstrates that hobbies can range from simple to complex one.

Moreover, different people tend to enjoy different activities and there cannot be a single yardstick to determine the complexity of different tasks. As there are people of different abilities, no two people may agree about the complexity of a task. For example, many children may consider the performance of a clown in the circus to be difficult whereas in reality, the clown may have got used to repeating these activities so often that he may consider it to be extremely easy.

In conclusion, varieties of activities would qualify as hobby independent of their complexity. In reality, many of us are likely to understand and enjoy simple activities.