Some people believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Currently, It has become essential to learn more than one language. However, the age of beginning learning a new language is negotiable. Some individuals argue that it is better for children to learn a new language in primary school, while others think that it is better to postpone it until the secondary school. Mastering the new language, and the good memory among young children are the advantages of this, while confusion between the original language and the new language, and the overwhelming home tasks are the drawbacks. I will elaborate them more in the next few lines.

The first merit of learning a new language in early childhood is good controlling of it. In other words, when pupils learn a new language, such as English, they would never has accent and they can read, write, speak, and listen as native people. The second advantage is the good memory of youngs. This means that the earlier the start learning a new language, the shorter the time they need to grasp it. For instance, there was a study conducted at Cairo University proved that the time needed to have a good command of English halved if they started in primary school.

On the other hand, it is said that children would become overwhelmed with their homework as a result of early learning of a new language. This weans that there will be more effort to be done at home to study this language in addition to their subjects, such as mathematics, since, and social studies. Moreover, they said that early language learning may lead children confused between their original language and the new one. In other words, unintentionally, children may express themselves by the new language rather than their mother tongue. For example, the majority of pupils who learned English showed negative effects on their native language. However, I believe that these drawbacks are temporary and will decrease by the time.

In conclusion, having stated these merits, and demerits, I believe that the advantages of early learning a new language outweigh the disadvantages.