Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Certain professionals opine that including foreign language in elementary school curriculum is more beneficial instead of middle school. Taking this ideology into consideration, in this essay, I shall present the merits and demerits of this notion before reaching a logical conclusion.

To begin with the bright side, there are a number of rationale that support this theory, yet the leading point is that children have the ability to learn faster at a young age. To elaborate, researches show that the first five years of a child are the most crucial in his/her physical and cognitive development, and during this period, they can learn at a faster pace compared to an average adult, or a middle or high school student, therefore, teaching a foreign language in primary school is better than in secondary school. Apart from this, there is a long-term benefit that pupils will have strong basics since it is important for learning a particular language and it can help them in the future to understand the language better and learning easier.

Along with advantages the disadvantages are bound to be there, so looking into the dark side regarding this thesis, the opponents suggest that it can add up to the work load for the students. To explicate, there are already so many domains in school like mathematics, environmental science and others so including another subject can be stressful for children at such a young age. Undoubtedly, the studies show that young students have a huge learning capacity but still this cause pressure at the pupils' minds at their tender age.

To sum up, in account of the aforementioned arguments there are some flaws in this ideology but the perks have an edge over the catch.