Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Is is said that railways are more convenient than roads and more money should be spent by the authorities on development of this system instead of roadways. Considering this aforementioned assertion, in this essay, the upcoming paragraphs shall discuss merits and demerits of railroads.

To commence with, there are numerous reasons that support this belief and the prime one is that trains can transport entities at a faster rate compared to road conduction. To illustrate, vehicles on road such as trucks slow down when they are loaded with heavy things, whereas, train speed is not affected by the weights of the items it is carrying which leads to swift conveyance of articles. Secondly, movement of objects can be done in large quantities as train boxes have ample amount of space in them to fit more or huge commodities and extra carriages can be added if there are additional things. But in case of road transport, a fixed load can be transferred no more than that.

On the other hand, to support why I partially disagree with the statement the causes are that during extreme weather conditions, it can become a challenge to use trains. To elaborate, in the course of critical climate situations, for example, heavy snowfall, rainfall and others the clogged tracks are a big tasks to clear in contrast with roads resulting in delay in shipments. In addition, the maintenance of railway is expensive as the administration has to employ people to take care of stations and repairing tracks is needed annually since they are made of iron including other metals such as steel. However, roads do not require any of these above mentioned facilities even the restoration is needed after 5 years or so.

In conclusion, railway has its own advantages and disadvantages as well as roads have their own but emphasizing on any one them is not the solution, therefore, I moderately accord with the given declaration.