Nowadays in many countries, young people leave rural areas to study or work in cities. Is it a positive or negative development?

Youth leaving their villages for schooling and employment in urban areas has become a trend in numerous nations, these days. In this essay, I shall discuss the aforementioned movement and explain why it is a good shift.

To commence with, the reasons for the popularity of this trend are manifold yet, the first and foremost one to be noted is that the cosmopolitans offer more job opportunities. To explicate, various multinational corporations set up their companies in big cities such as Bengaluru, Gurgaon, etc. because of the infrastructure available there. This attracts a lot of people to move closer to them. Furthermore, taking education into consideration, schools in these metropolitans are facilitated with advanced equipment for learning providing students with visualized and practical approach in their subjects which is not possible in rural areas, yet. For instance, recent surveys have shown that children who studied in cities acquired more knowledge about the domains in their curriculum than the pupils in villages. Hence, all these causes make urban areas an ideal place to live.

However, there are some benefits of staying back in their native hometowns as well. Firstly, one gets to stay with his family and friends with whom they share a priceless bond. Generally, it is not easy to move the entire family to urban area due to financial constraints and therefore, many individuals just live with their families rather than moving to cities. Secondly, the environment in the villages is cleaner compared to the polluted cosmopolitans. The water and air in the countryside are pure, free of any chemicals. Although these interests might matter to a small portion of the population but the life in metropolitans is more fulfilling.

In conclusion, after contemplating the rendered arguments, I opine that urbanization being trend is a positive development though it has a few drawbacks, but these can be overcome provided people work together.