Some people believe that it í a good idea that older people continue to work if it is possible for them to do. Do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that senior citizens ought to continue contributing to their work as long as they are able. While there are clearly some advantages to this line of thinking, I partly disagree due to all the drawbacks it presents.

On the one hand, the argument that older people should continue working is reasonable to some extent. The first reason for this is the fact that it could provide these seniors with a sense of purpose as we all need as human beings. By working and contributing their part to society, the general happiness level as well as well-being could be greatly enhanced, which in turn, will prevent depression as well as the feeling of being completely useless. Another reason for supporting this idea is the fact that age usually, if not always, comes with experience. This notion will allow the senior workers to work more efficiently with their existing knowledge in a field. As a result, companies could now save more time and resources to train new inexperienced workers, and instead allocate all of that into expanding the business further.

On the other hand, despite the above-mentioned benefits, there are a variety of reasons why I believe older workers should not be permitted to work even when they can. The main reason is that by allowing senior workers to continue their work, younger workers or freshly graduated students will be directly left in a position with no place to work on themselves and advance further in their careers. This could lead to the fact that they can be inexperienced as well as lack of practice, which will profoundly affect the competency of the future workforce. The second reason is that even though older workers are more experienced in their field, they could also be more rigid and less flexible when it comes to new technologies or new ways to do their work. This inadaptability to change could directly pose an enormous threat to their overall efficiency, which as a result could harm a business in the long run.

To conclude, for all the reasons listed above, I strongly contend that older citizens should not be allowed to work even when they are able. It is advisable that seniors engage in some forms of recreational activities to ease their minds as well as to increase their overall wellbeing.