Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Freedom of information has been declared worldwide as human right since the 20th century. Especially in terms of scientific fields, business and education, it is even believed that knowledge should be widespread as much as possible. On the other hand, some people do not have complete credit for sharing information and think some should be kept secretly.

At first, information sharing is the motivation of development, in fields such as science and academy, this statement is even more obvious. History has shown that any actions attempting to hide discoveries, inventions, knowledge away, will only result in a certain lost of that knowledge. In addition, when information is shared freely and accessible to anyone, cooperation will emerge and new information will be eventually created, therefore, there will be growth. Examples of benefits from information sharing is everywhere, but perhaps the Internet is the most significant one. As it can be seen, with the invention of the Internet during the late 20th century, global economy has explosively grown, plus, numerous new technology and forms of business were given born to, which created millions of jobs for people. With all of the advantages mentioned above, the Internet is, without doubt, a symbol of information sharing in our century.

However, every matter has its two sides. Free information has its advantages, yet there are still downsides worth considering. Although spreading information is the foundation of development, it is undeniable that some information is better to be retained privately as they are either too valuable or dangerous. Information which may cause potential damages from private bank passwords to nuclear tech are fine examples of knowledge that mustn't be widely spreaded since if they fall into the wrong hands, they might be put into harmful uses.

In conclusion, while we can not contradict the fact that information sharing is vital, choosing carefully which information to share is also the responsibility of every person. With wisdom and self-awareness, we can totally optimize knowledge sharing and limit its harm.