Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, businesses and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Scientific research and development are rungs of the ladder of life that we should climb carefully. There is a wide consensus among people that information regarding scientific research, business and academic world should be shared as much as means allow, but some are very skeptical about this overt cooperation. This essay will shed light on both these viewpoints.

Firstly, the idea that new developments in scientific and other subjects should be freely shared has tremendous benefits. This does not only helps us to increase the understanding of the topic but also teach us the act of communication with foreign peers. Unlike money or gold, knowledge is considered to be a treasure that expands multi-fold when it is passed around. The invention of antibiotics by Sir Alexander Fleming would never have materialized, if it weren't for the papers that he shared with his American counterparts. Therefore, it is more beneficial to share the recent findings of researches and surveys than to hoard it.

However, some are concerned that sharing might not be such a brilliant idea. There are some discoveries that are too sensitive to be made public. God forbid, if such studies were to fall in wrong hands, the safety and well being of the entire planet could be in jeopardy. For instance, there are strict laws in place regarding sharing of secrets of nuclear weapons development. Any person or state that breaches these laws is subjected to strict penalization by United Nations. Therefore, it is crucial to keep certain type of information private, so that public can live in peace.

The conclusion is very straight forward, if the data is valuable for the betterment of mankind then it should be shared by all means. But what happens if it isn't? I think it's favorable to keep it under lock and key if we want to avoid any global mishaps.