Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Information is everywhere and is useful for scientific, business and academic research whether or not people have opposing views about sharing the data they possess. There are those who hold the belief that knowledge they have should be willingly shared while others claim that the information they possess are only their own. Because we live in a free world, it is to everyone’s benefit that the data we hold are shared to those who can use it for the good of all.

Even though we live separate from each other, there is no denying that we are all part of one world. The littlest things we do impact not only ourselves but the people around us even though we may not be mindful of it. If we are aware of a valuable piece of information but we do not share it with those that matter, we unwittingly put others and ultimately, ourselves in jeopardy. This clearly happened in China when those who knew about the virus, kept silent and ultimately caused millions to die of COVID-19.

Since there are those who espouse the belief that some information are too valuable and personal, some matters are not resolved quickly and thoroughly. In order for people with mental health issues to be helped, those who know of such cases need to bring the case to experts who can provide assistance and eventual healing to those affected. Cases of suicide could have been prevented if people were more trusting and open about the mental health problems they or people they know have been experiencing.

It is to everyone’s advantage that we freely share the information we have. After all, information is free and is not solely are own.