Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Privacy seems to be impossible nowadays that our modern world may appear incapable of providing it. Some information can be readily accessed online, shared through words of mouth or sometimes could be illegally taken. While there are individuals who approve of information sharing freely especially in academics, business and research, others think that much value should be put on such information and not be communicated openly.

Access to information can be beneficial. One example is for the purpose of learning. For instance, a professor, who is at the same time a doctor, can teach his medicine students about a recent study about a newly-discovered pathogen infecting the clients. Another significance of sharing information is for the benefit of research. In scientific studies, if data gathered and result findings were shared to certain people, improvements can be done or mistakes can be lessened.

On the other hand, information sharing can also be critical especially if it is sensitive and if there is a wrong recipient. An example is a registered nurse telling an unauthorized friend about the result of a client’s blood test. The nurse in this scenario is breaching the confidentiality of the client’s data which could result in a criminal offence. Posting one’s whereabouts on social media could be another example. Strangers knowing a person’s exact location can do a crime. One can easily abduct a person especially if other descriptions about the person is accessible online.

In my opinion, sharing information have both positive and negative sides. It can either create harm or provide safety and learning. People should just be vigilant on which facts can be safely publicized and to whom these details should be shared to.