Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. Discuss both these views and g

These days, information is viewed is both valuable and vital to be shared. The question is, should it be shared or are there situations when this freedom is too much?

To start with, there are a number of arguments for sharing as much information as possible. The most convincing point is related to science. Scientists need to share their research and they need others to view and check their own research and results, which is vital because if this was not done, important studies would not be replicated and more errors would result. However, the strongest argument is often academic freedom. Academics and universities as a group believe that spreading information is their purpose. It can even be said that preventing this, contradicts the existence of tertiary education.

On the other hand, others believe that there are clearly some circumstances when this should be limited. The first situation is business. Proponents of this view point out that in business knowledge is often a specific system or process, that companies have heavily invested in. They believe that in this situation businesses have the right to exploit whatever value they can for their company before sharing it. A related point is timing. It can be argued that information should be free but with a condition, that the release of the information be controlled by the owner of that information. In other words, the inventor, researcher or investor should have a period where they can utilize this knowledge for themselves before releasing it. Scientific research into drugs and medicine is a good example of this.

In conclusion, while there convincing arguments for the freedom of information in science and academia in general, there are undoubtedly periods of time when businesses - and to a certain extent - researchers should be able to restrict this. Therefore, I partly support both views.