Some people believe that it is wrong to keep animals in zoos, while others think that zoos are both entertaining and ecologically important. Discuss both views.

While some people disapprove of keeping animals in cages, others contend that this action is beneficial for humans, animals, and the ecosystem to a certain extent.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that zoos may bring about some merits. First, thanks to the advent of zoos, people can learn more about wildlife and animals in a safe way. This is due to the fact that animals are kept and controlled in cages, thus, they can not do harm to visitors who want to gain a deep insight into animals’ life. Second, zoos are ecologically beneficial because they help protect animals from threats when they live in wild places. For instance, tigers in captivity are not only protected from being hunted but also provided with sufficient food, therefore, their possibilities of going extinct are reduced.

On the other hand, it is justifiable why many oppose the existence of zoos. Animals living in cages are deprived of freedom, which is morally wrong. As a result, these species may feel exhausted and depressed for a long time, some may even lose their lives. In addition, some zoos do not receive enough attention and care from the government, thus having to operate on insufficient budgets. Consequently, animals living in these places are not supplied with enough food, some are even left to die. Therefore, it seems clear that zoos not only do not help protect animals but also drive them to the verge of extinction.

In conclusion, while it is understandable that zoos may bring about some merits to animals and nature, they still do harm to species to a certain extent.