Some people believe that it is wrong to keep animals in zoos, while others think that zoos are both entertaining and ecologically important.

Discuss both views.

While there are people concur with the view that animals should be free from zoos, others believe that the way of preserving fauna is of great importance for the ecology as well as it is a mode of entertainment for the public. The essay will discuss both views and explain why the role of zoos is radical.

One the one hand, there two main detrimental implications on the life of wild animals in zoos. It is impossible for zoologists to artificially clone the natural environment for the living creatures. As a consequence, animals may be unable to adapt to man-made habitats, which finally shortens their life spans. Another drawback of zoos is rooted in the management of the establishments themselves. In certain zoos, wild animals are enslaved soly for financial rewards, the needs of the tamed animals are thus neglected. Food supplies and caregivers can be cut in order to maximize profit, plaguing the welfare of the zoo inhabitants.

One the other hand, the ecology and the masses are together benefited when animals are conserved in zoos. By residing in the dedicated shelters, wild creatures are safeguarded from the risk of being poached, hunted, and traded in the black market as their counterparts in the wilderness. Additionally, as there are experts who are adept at rearing and breeding animals, animals kept in zoo can flourish. When the endangered animals are released to the wild, they can foster ecological equilibrium. From the public perspective, zoos have become the mecca for people of all ages to relax with their loved ones in weekends or holidays, stamped out stresses and disturbances of everyday’s lives.

In sum, although being preserved may take a toll on the longevity and well-being of animals living in zoos, the safe heavens for animals provide protection, facilitate proliferation and supply a valuable location for people with leisure time. I believe that the virtues of zoos justify their existence.