Some people believe that manufacturers and supermarkets should minimise the packaging material used However others think that consumers should avoid heavily packaged goods Discuss both views and give your opinion

The consumption of plastic packaging is increasing day-by-day in our society. Some people, therefore argue that it is up to the manufacturers to decrease the quantity of packaging, while there are others who are of the view that, it would be better if customers stopped buying these products. Both the views will be disscussed inn this essay before arriving at a logical conclusion.

On the one hand, I believe that it is the responsibility of companies to reduce the amount of packaging. This is because there are so many people in our society who are unaware about the negative impacts that plactics have on our environment. For example, a research conducted by the Oxford University press found out that around 40% of people around the globe are unaware about the damaging effect of plastic packaging. So manufacturers should reduce the amount of plastic packaging that is used to store and sell their products, instead they should promote biodegradable, recyclable or environmental friendly materials.

On the other hand, consumers can also play a key role in tackling this issue, by limiting their consumption of products that are packed in non-biodegradable materials. By boycotting certain products they can put pressure on manufacturers who are not using eco-friendly methods. This will force companies to adapt to more sustainable methods of packaging. For instance, in 2015, a company called Frito-Lay changed plastic packaging to biodegradable paper bags in 3 weeks, when consumers started to boycott their products. So it is evident that consumer have the power to save the environment by bringing changes.

In conclusion, there is no doubt about the damaging effects plastic products have on our environment, and I belive that this issue can be ameliorated, if both manufacturers and consumers take equal responsibility.