A government has a responsibility to its citizens to ensure their safety Therefore some people think that the government should increase spending on defence but spend less on social benefits To what extent do you agree

It is the responsibility of the government to ensure the safety of the its citizens. Due to this, some people believe that governments should increase the defence budget and decrease the spending on social benefits. To a large extent, I agree with this view, the reasons for which will be enumerated in this essay.

Firstly, by increasing defence budget governments can ensure that their citizens are living in peace and harmony. This is because spending more on defence will improve the quality of military infrastructures and it will also equip the soldiers with high quality weapons. The benefit of this is that, foreign countries will think twice before attacking their neighbours. For example, the aggressive nature of the Chinese soldiers at the Indian border has deceased nowadays, and this is mainly due to the better infrastructure of the Indian army. So, it is evident that increased defense budget will ensure the safety of citizens.

However, I believe that the defense spending should not be at the expense of social benefits. This is because, today there are many people around the globe, who largely depend on the state in areas of health care and education. These people are able to live peacefully because of the subsidies and amenities provided by the governments. Also, it helps to narrow the inequality gap between the rich and poor in the society. For instance, a recent survey found out that around 80% of the people are dependent on government subsidies. So removing these subsidies will cause problems such as, economic instability and social unrest.

In conclusion, I believe that defence spending to thwart the aggression of unfriendly neighbours is as important as providing assistance to poor citizens through various social benefit schemes.