Some people believe that the only purpose of films is to entertain. But other say film should have educational value. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is a common belief that the main function of films are entertaining. On the contrary, others think films also educate value lessons. In my point of view, I totally agree with this opinion.

On the one hand, it is true that the crucial function of watching films is entertain. People usually spend time to cinema or watching films at home to put their minds at ease. According to one study from University of Cincinati, it showed that 70% residents were likely to watching films when they found tired or stressed because of working or study. Furthermore, citizens frequently confuse of the entertaining of films through film makers’ ways of marketing. In terms of psychology, it is evident that humans prefer humor videos’ cut rather than sad ones. As a result, many short-cut videos are available almost every social media in order to fascinate views and care.

On the other hand, entertaining is not the only reason that film producers want to convey to watchers. In other words, there are many other meaningful messages that can help people broaden their mind. Firstly, social relities are often illustrated through films’ characters and plots. For instance, Parasite which is the film that achieved Oscar 2020 had demonstrated the tremendous distance between the rich and poor in Korea. Secondly, private and individual education that are not frequent taught by parents or schools are showed on films. More specifically, there are some sensitive contents such as private life education, woman rights or gender equality. To exemplify, Euphoria is one od the top 10 school life films of Netflix which watchers voted due to the realistic problems that school children may have to deal with and there is nowhere tells students specifically about it.

In conclusion, which I accept that inhabitants use films as one way of entertaining, I also argue that people should not underestimate other benefits of watching films.