Some people believe that people have the right to university education, and government should make it free no matter what their financial background. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People have different views about the role of government in educational sector in terms of tuition fee. Many individuals believe that national government should provide free schooling for all undergraduates from all walks of life seeing that their human rights to enter university. In my opinion, while agreeing that each person have the right to undergo tertiary education, no fee program at universities seems to be infeasible.

On the one hand, there are various reasons why people have the right to enroll at universities due to both individual and societal advantages. Firstly, higher education could equip undergraduates with vast knowledge related to their future career and relavent degrees, meaning that they could have more and better job opportunities. In other words, those graduates could climb higher in social ladder, especially with those disadvantaged people. Moreover, thanks to university education, they could contribute partially to society with their specialised knowledge such as working as voluntary teachers or doctors in even geographically remote regions.

On the other hand, I would argue that the fact that government should charge no fee for all undergraduates regardless of what backgrounds they have is implausible for following reasons. One possible reason for this could be that there are many crucial sectors that need goverment funding besides education such as health and environment. If for example state government carry out this free schooling program, then it is highly likely that other domains would lack investment and even undermine in the long run. Furthermore, NGOs and other organisations have been supporting greatly with educational sector via a variety of scholarships and financial incentives as an investment for future generations, notably for those underprivileged students. The prime example is at Hue university, many organisations provide money and other scholarships for students that have poor background to foster their study spirit as well as promote their image with public opinion.

In conclusion, it seems to me that although people have the right to study at unversities, government should not make it free to all walks of life.