Some people believe that people should retire at 65. While others believe that they should be allowed to work as long as they want to. What is your view point? Discuss.

Retirement at 65 is a default retiring age which has been phased out in some counties. It is prerogative of the employer to set a retirement age for their human talent. Conversely, some people believe that the young generation is deprived of their human rights to integrate into society economically if people are allowed to work beyond their retirement age. I agree with this statement.

The benefits are obvious when a long tenure of office is in place for both employers and employees. Employees who have worked for a long time have a better insight and knowhow of the firm. This saves resources, time, cost, and wastage for corporations. Because both parties are aligned with each other’s expectations, they prove to be the instrument of cost effectiveness. It is a win-win situation.

On the contrary, it seems that allowing employees to work beyond the retirement age outweigh its advantages. The population across the world- estimated to touch seven billion people by 2020 is rising against opportunities in labor market. This may rage an upheaval in the economy. The second point is certain jobs require a great amount of precision, alertness, insight and physical and mental strength. The human body is designed to decay its faculties as time passes. Such a scenario could have detrimental effects. For example, a pilot beyond 65 could jeopardize the lives of passengers owing to his debilitating health and weak eyesight.

In conclusion, both the government and corporations are meant to create jobs. Joblessness could take a monster from and destabilize the whole system. Thus, retiring at 65 is justified, but there should be a little accommodation for retired personal to come to a consulting board in the event of any need.