Some people say that young people learn useful skills by playing electronic and computer games Others say that young people who play electronic and computer games are wasting their time Discuss both views and give your opinion

It is true that the question of whether adolescents can learn soft skills through

playing electronic and computer games or this is just a waste of time remains a

source of controversy. While many people believe that playing games have some

benefits, I would argue that this brings more drawbacks than advantages.

On the one hand, playing video games is advantageous to some extent. The first

benefit is that such games can help youngsters enhance their hand-eye coordination

and spatial awareness. For example, in a video game, players invariably move

around to avoid enemies and obstacles. By doing this, adolescents can develop

their ability to quickly use hand and eyes as well as their strategic skills.

Moreover, video games also play an integral part in education. For example, in

math classes, instead of using school textbooks alone to illustrate math lesson,

children can learn through playing some games such as quiz, which raise interest

in studying math.

On the other hand, I believe that there are several problems associated with

playing video games. Firstly, if young people concentrate too much on playing,

they are likely to neglect their studies and household chores. Moreover, this could

lead to physical health problems, especially eye diseases. When people keep their

eyes glued to computer screens for several hours, waves from computers and wifi

devices may cause headaches. In addition, these youngsters are more and more

prone to obesity as they spend hours sitting in front of screens instead of

participating in outdoor activities. Finally, since some games contain sex or

violence, players who play these kinds of games have more tendency to develop

violent behavior than those who do not play. As a result, they may bully their

classmates or colleagues.

To conclude, although playing video games can have some positive influences on

children /young generation, it seems to me it is better to set limits on playing these

games.