Some people believe that people who read books can develop more imagination and language skills than those who prefer to watch TV Do you agree or disagree

There has been a belief that reading would develop one’s imagination and language ability while watching TV is not effective in this. In my view, reading certainly brings more benefits than watching TV for the following reasons

First and foremost, people who read book frequently can improve their language skill which is believed to be essential in modern society. In fact, it can be apparently seen that language in most books are formal and literate than spoken language shown on TV. In addition, written materials contain not only valuable lessons but also the writer’s attitude forward a problem that can boost reader’s language ability and critical thinking. Therefore, readers are more likely to successfully express themselves when they interact with others in daily basis.

Another significant merit of reading books is the development of imagination, which, TV cannot provide its viewers. As a matter of fact, book readers have the tendency to build or create their world while reading books that eventually enhance their imaginative ability and even creativity. For example, a child reading animal books would imagine in the appearance of those animals and the surrounding in their mind while reading, which is exceedingly beneficial for their mental development. In contrast, although it is undeniable that TV offers lively and colorful images than books, people usually absorb what is presented on TV passively without reflecting it.

Taking all things into consideration, it is unthinkable that reading books helps human improve their language proficiency and promote their imagination, which, TV cannot ensure. Therefore, maintaining reading habit is an indispensable part in this day and age.