Some people believe that to protect local culture, tourism should be banned in some areas whereas other think that change is inevitable and banning tourism will have no benefits.

Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Nowadays, people begin to value and care about their culture, but they have different views on its protection, some of them claim that tourism put the culture under threat and want to forbid tourists to came, while others think that restriction has no sense and changes are inevitable.

On one hand, tourism brings some modifications to local culture. Dwellers suffer the travelers from other countries, who show their behavior and lifestyle to indigenous residents. Especially, it has negative impact on youth, because they can be easily influenced by other cultures and thoughts. Besides, any changes lead to disappearance of primary culture over time. So, the government has to solve such problem and insert rules or restrictions in the some places. For example, in the UAE entry for tourists with a large number of piercings is prohibited.

On the other hand, tourism has one of the major benefits to economics growth. For a number of countries, especially developing small states, the tourism industry has become the main industry or, at least, the main source of foreign currency and income. Tiny countries don’t have enough industries and resources to support levels of quality of life, therefore they are forced to develop tourism. For instance, the Turkish government has established a visa-free regime to attract tourists.

In conclusion, I can say that tourism can change regional culture, some people oppose this, other people want transformation. As for me tourism has two sides: the dark side is that it modifies local culture, the light side is economics increasing, but residents have to take care of civilization and folklore conservation.