Some people believe the range of technology available to individuals today is increasing the gap between poor people and rich people. Others think it is having an opposite effect. Discuss these points of views. What is your opinion?

Nowadays information technology is becoming an essential part of modern life. People of different welfare level face some pieces of this technology every day. But do this mean that the gap between rich and poor is getting smaller? In my mind, it is not really correct to answer this question just positively. Information technology is a power of modernity that affects the society both ways giving to poor and rich the same opportunities to develop and working for those who can pay more.

There is no doubt that with the spread of the Internet people in almost every corner in the world, of any age and wealth got the access to a vast amount of information. This means that one can learn new things, read any books, study any languages just with a help of a gadget with Internet access. Using these data people can improve their professional skills or get some new. Therefore, their competence increases, and they are getting more competitive workers with a higher salary rates.

On the contrary, information technology has become a business, whose owners are the richest people in the world. «Who owns the information, he owns the world» — this famous words by Nathan Rothschild seem to be true nowadays. Moreover, information technology companies can manipulate with data, solving what one should or should not know. This all multiplies the power in the hands of rich, who decide what will happen to others.

Summing up, information technologies allows people to raise their social and economic status, but at the same time became a new tool for rich people to maintain their position in modern society.