Some people believe that reading stories from a book is better than watching TV or playing computer games for children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that reading book is more beneficial for children compared to watching TV or playing computer games. Personally, I completely agree with this statement and analyze my point of view in the essay.

First of all, children can better improve their imagination through reading books in comparison with watching TV or playing computer games. By reading books, they have to use their imagination to create a vision and visualize all events which are described by words in books. While reading books, they will create images, thoughts and opinions in their mind. These enhance their imagination and creativity. Meanwhile, this can hardly happen for watching TV as TV provides full images and vibrant colours. Consequently, it is reasonable to say that reading books help children produce more imaginative responses than watching TV.

Finally, reading stories from a book also develop their verbal abilities compared to watching TV or playing computer games. Children will be exposed a wide range of vocabularies as well as sentence structures when reading books. In additional, reading books can provide great opportunities for children to increase their vocabulary level which can lead to better writing skills. Meanwhile, when it comes to TV or computer games, sounds and pictures are two main elements rather than texts. So, books are better than TV or computer games at improving children’s vocabulary.

In conclusion, I completely agree that reading stories in a book is better than watching TV or playing computer game. Because reading book helps children enhance their imagination and advance vocabulary level.