Some people believe that reading stories from a book is better than watching TV or playing computer games for children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, books, TV programmes and video games are considered as some of the most popular recreational activities among kids. Of all these activities, reading book is advocated to be the most advantageous for the youngsters. From a personal perspective, I would take a dim view of this opinion owing to the fact that each activity has its own positive aspects.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that books are instrumental in enhancing children’s creativity and imagination. By reading stories, children have to use their imagination to visualize all events described by words in a book, hence, continuously creating a fantasy world in mind stimulate children’s neural development. In view of these facts, children that are bookworms find themselves better at critical thinking as well as decision making. The second point that should be taken into consideration is the more books children read, the higher their language acquisition ability will be since youngsters are given the opportunity to be exposed to a wide range of vocabularies and grammar structures. It is also noticeable that books play an indispensable role in the success of many outstanding individuals throughout human’s history, Uncle Ho, Elson Musk, Bill Gates to name a few.

Meanwhile, we should not take the benefits of video games and TV programmes for granted. There are a growing number of TV programmes providing significant lessons for juveniles nowadays, ranging from table manner to adequate behaviours in some particular situations. Children having access to these videos are more likely to develop good personalities from a young age. It is not to mention that children can cultivate leadership and cooperation skills when they play computer games with friends as game settings required not only highly cooperation between players but also the ability to be a team leader in some cases. Furthermore, the use of these electronic devices on a daily basis can improve youngsters’ technological literacy, which is widely recognized as one of the most crucial demand in the digital world’s workforce.

In conclusion, I completely disapprove with the writer’s viewpoint in consideration of plentiful advantages that both perspectives bring about for children’s developments.