Some people believe that reading stories from a book is better than watching tv or playing computer games for children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Along with the advances of civilizations, open-minded people currently have changed their conventional beliefs in the desire to fully train young learners. Instead of using printed books, freeing children from watching TV or playing games seemingly creates better results. I, as a fervent advocate of this movement, confidently assert that due to children’s cognitive development and psychology the latter approach is worth trying.

On the one hand, books are no longer considered an effective tool to be employed in teaching young learners because of human cognition. According to Piaget’s theory relating to four stages of cognitive development, those in the age of 2 to 11 are in the preoperational and concrete operational phases, which means abstract knowledge presented in academic books or even language syntax in comic books would be great obstacles for children to understand. Therefore, it is likely an arduous task to require them to spend hours of their beautiful life reading books, things that students find no interest in. Even more woeful is the poor efficiency that this training method brings back since the meaningful moral lessons conveyed in the material could not reach readers in these age groups.

On the other hand, TV or computer game are able to prove their potential roles in stimulating the interest and supporting the academic performance of young learners. Regarding benefits from the TV platform, large masses of specialists and non-specialists express their strong supports since it can draw students’ attention for hours while they watch their favorite programs. Now that the vivid scenes and catchy sounds are of importance to boost children’s memory. This suggests that kids can memorize knowledge longer and more accurately. When it comes to the computer game, notwithstanding previous censures about its adverse impact on players’ mental and physical health, recent studies of an Australian university have indicated that children playing with game figures find it easy to create their own stories. However, only a few months ago, their teachers received a myriad of complaints as these young learners did not know how to commence their stories. Hence, computer games enable to aid learners in their academic performance.

In conclusion, there would not be books, but television and computer games that become effective training tools in educating young students.