Some people believe that school children should be made to wear a uniform Others feel that children should be free to choose their own clothes do you agree or disagree with pupils wearing uniforms

While wearing uniforms is a mandatory requirement for students in some high schools, others allow their students to wear casual clothes at school. From my perspective, I partially agree with the idea of school uniforms for the following reasons.

On the one hand, I believe that a uniform can benefit the highschool as well as their students. Firstly, a uniform can define the school’s identity. In Vietnam, for example, the majority of highschools have their own uniforms, which vary in colors, designs and unique logos. This may bring the students a sense of unity and be helpful in identifying them at events where many highschools gather. Secondly, wearing uniforms can alleviate possible class discrimination in high schools. As students come from different socio-economic backgrounds, fancy clothes are something to flaunt their wealth and privilege. Hence, wearing similar outfits seems to be a feasible solution for this distinction, increasing students' concentration on their academic performances.

On the other hand, I suggest that a highschool uniform might negatively impact some groups of people, and one of them could be the low-income families. To illustrate, the average cost of a standard uniform set for Vietnamese highschool students is 500 thousands Vietnamese dong, which constitutes a considerable budget of impoverished households. This might place a heavy financial burden on them when they have to pay this extra money almost every academic year. Moreover, wearing uniforms can be uncomfortable for students suffering from obesity. To be more specific, uniforms in standard sizes which do not fit these students seem to restrict their movement, so that wearers must seriously consider how they sit and run. This can bring obese students insecurity and even contribute to bullying in high schools.

In conclusion, it is my belief that compulsory uniforms are important for highschool students, however, it should be made affordable and comfortable for all students.