Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas other argue that homework plays an important role in the education of the children.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion

In recent times, an increasing number of people are concerned about the role of the setting of homework in the education of children. Opinions diverge on whether homework shouldn’t be given by teachers or it takes a crucial part in education. Personally, I am of the opinion with the latter view, even though the former shows some positives.

On the one hand, homework has an important role to play in the schooling of children. The main benefit of homework that is it encourages independent learning and problem solving as children have to work alone and at their own pace. in doing so, children could develop an independent study habit, which is necessary for people and would help them not only when they go upgrade but also when they grow up, too. Besides, homework may help children to have the opportunity to practice more outside after school. For example, the time of the lesson at school could be not enough for the students to practice after study that they may not understand all the knowledge, so homework would be a great choice for them to consolidate their understanding of the concepts taught by teachers at school.

On the other hand, homework is an unnecessary burden on children. Firstly, the school day is already long enough, and it leaves the children too tired to do any further study when they return home. Secondly, there is no evidence to support the idea that homework does nothing to improve educational outcomes. Take an example, in some countries in the world, such as Finland, where school children are not given homework, regularly top international educational league tables while the nations where setting homework is the norm. Thirdly, if homework appears in all the subjects at school, there wouldn’t be a little for the children to relax after a busy time at school, and so on, it could make the children tired and stress.

In conclusion, from what has been discussed, although the setting of homework certainly has its drawbacks, in my opinion, its benefits would outweigh them in the long term.