Some people believe that space travel is a waste of government money while others believe it is important for human development. Discuss both these views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant example from your own knowledge or experience. Write AT LEAST 250 words.

Some individuals think that space travel can contribute to human progress, whereas others including me are of the opinion that it might waste government funding. In this essay, I will discuss both views and explain the reasons for my opinion.

There are two reasons that people regard space travel as a crucial factor for human development. The first reason is that space exploration allows individuals to widen their knowledge about the solar system. When traveling outside the Earth, people can be able to see other planets such as Jupiter or Mars within a close distance and even discover new areas in the solar system. Therefore, this can facilitate new explorations of undiscovered planets that are suitable for humans to reside in case the Earth becomes unlivable. Another reason for the support for space travel is that it can help enhance technology and research methods in the field of astronomy, thereby providing opportunities for people to devise revolutionary inventions. For example, the phone camera was invented by a Nasa Jet Propulsion Laboratory scientist named Eugene Lally in 1965 for space travel and it is now one of the most convenient features on cell phones.

However, others including me believe that space travel is a waste of government money due to two reasons. Firstly, it might put astronauts’ lives in danger when there is not enough specialized equipment that can ensure space explorers’ safety. Since the atmosphere outside the Earth lacks gravity, it can be dangerous for astronauts’ breathing systems if they have no careful protection. Secondly, space travel cannot be as urgent as other issues such as climate change, which is currently affecting people’s lives. Climate change is wreaking havoc on humans’ atmosphere, health and natural resources. This means that individuals might lose their current living habitats if measures are not taken. Therefore, the government should fund to solve this urgency instead of spending on space explorations.

In conclusion, while some people contend that space travel is a vital contribution to human development because it can provide beneficial knowledge for new discoveries of unknown planets and facilitates helpful inventions, I believe that it is not worth investing. Since it cannot ensure astronauts’ safety and is not as negatively impactful as current damaging factors to humans, investment for this traveling approach is wasteful to some extent.