Some people believe that sport is an essential part of school life for children, while others feet it should be purely optional. Discuss these opposing view and give your own opinion. You should give reasons for your answer, and include ideas and example from your own knowledge and experience.

The sport continues to be a controversial topic in the school curriculum, just as a sport itself has become a controversial industry in some respects. There are some valid opinions on both side, which I consider now

On the one hand, some people feel that sport uses up time which better spent on academic subjects such as exam preparation. Moreover, it said that it is unwise to force children to do activities, which they have no interest in them. Finally, there are question marks over the wholesomeness of sport itself, with drugging and corruption scandals increasingly common, as we see in football at present. So some people believe that this lack of morals sets a poor example to youngsters.

On the other hand, a significant benefit of the sport is that it helps children's physical development at the vital stage. Furthermore, the supporters of school sport emphasize the importance of team building in sports, such as football or basketball, which often helped to be excellent preparation for adulthood. Finally, many people feel that a competitive spirit, so important today, that is fostered by sports at an early age. It is notable, for example, that many successful business people excelled in school sport.

Overall, I feel that sport should be compulsory for school children because of the positive effect on their mental and physical development outweighs the negatives. As long as a wide range of sports choices gave to children, to ensure their interest is high, and that sports industry itself maintains the highest standards of conduct.