Some people believe that students should be allowed to evaluate and criticise their teachers to improve the quality of education Others think this is disrespectful to teachers Discuss both views give your opinion and include relevant examples

It is often argued by some that in order to raise the standard of education, evaluation and criticism of teachers by their students should be allowed, whereas some think that it would be disrespectful to teachers. In my opinion, I agree with the former view and think that criticism of teachers by their students is not disrespectful and would result in raising the standard of education.

On the one hand, some believe that criticism and evaluation of teachers by their students will raise the standard of education because it will make teachers more responsible. They would be prepared to face questions from boys and girls in schools, and would therefore, prepare their lectures properly, resulting in better quality of teaching. For instance, according to a recent online poll conducted by the Department of State Education in 2015 in Uganda, revealed that schools were students were encouraged to question and engage in open discussions with teachers have shown a better annual pass percentage than schools that did not followed this practice. I completely agree with this view and think that such type of practice in schools would improve the standard of education, as teachers will act more responsibly.

On the other hand, some claim that such type of behavior by students would be disrespectful to teaching staff, as their ego may get hurt. This is to say that they will feel comfortable when someone questions their ability, resulting in degradation in the quality of education. For example, according to an article published by The Arab Times in 2016 revealed that in many schools across Middle Eastern region, students were not encouraged to question their teachers, as it was considered to be disrespectful to teachers. However, I do not agree with this and think that questioning teachers does not result in being disrespectful and instead would result in increasing the knowledge of teachers.

In conclusion, although some think that evaluation and criticism of teachers by students could be disrespectful as their ego might be hurt, it is better to criticize and evaluate teachers because this would make teachers more responsible and therefore, raise the stand of education.