Some people believe that students should study in groups. Others think that they should study alone. What are the benefits of studying in groups and studying alone? Which way is more effective?

It is noticeable that recent decades witnessed the upwards pattern in self-learning, raising many questions of its substantial impacts on students’ academic achievements. Although the benefits of studying in groups could be pronounced, I think studying alone is more effective.

On the one hand, there are many advantages when it comes to studying in groups. First, studying in groups is invariably associated with the higher degree of interaction and consultation with other peers. This could act as an incentive for students’ deeper understanding of the lessons, contributing to their making progress. Second, studying in groups means that students could freely share reference learning materials with others, incentivising studying effectiveness. In fact, learning foreign languages together correlates with the acquisitions of documents pertaining to enhancing pronunciation or writing skills, acting as a catalyst for their language proficiency.

On the other hand, it should be acknowledged that autonomous learning could bestow many considerable benefits. First, self-studying could be conducive to the higher level of concentration on academic tasks due to no distractions stemming from friends like group studying. In addition, autonomous learning students could freely acquire knowledge from alternative resources such as cloud courses rather than their dependence on friends in group learning, thereby feeding into their increased academic attainments.

In conclusion, autonomous learning could guarantee the efficiency and the increase in academic achievements more than group studying. However, students could take their potential academic capacity and learning needs into consideration to adhere to the most practical methods for their long-term development.