These days more fathers stay at home and take care of their children while mothers go out to work. What could be the reasons for this? Do you think it is a positive and negative development?

Recent decades have witnessed an upsurge in the number of women becoming the breadwinners for their family while men stay at home for childcare. However, This pattern could lead to equally positive and negative consequences.

Changes in family roles could be attributed to the disappearance of prejudices relating to gender roles. Equal rights movements in favor of feminism culminate act as a deterrent for ingrained gender preferences. This suggests the social acceptance of women given an autonomy to pursue their careers and climb the promotion ladders while it also has become the social norm that men can stay at home to take care of the family.

There are also both advantages and disadvantages of that trend. On the one hand, These changes in the family pattern mean that women could despise their marriage partner for having no money-earning capabilities. This means that the likelihood of arguments and father’s negligence of family responsibilities is inevitable, pushing their marriage to the verge of divorce. On the other hand, this trend could act as an incentive for the family bonding between the father and the children. In fact, playing sports or home education with the father could make children feel the sense of family sentiments and have a deeper understanding of their father’s personality.

In conclusion, given that this family trend could be due to the social acceptance of gender equalities. Although stay-at-home dads constitute the causal relationship with the enhancement of family relationship, they could be susceptible to the possibilities of being looked down on by their spouse.