Some people believe that teaching children at home is best for a child’s development while others think that it is important for children to go to school.Discuss the advantages of both methods and give your own opinion.

In the olden days, education is said to start from the home and children had the opportunity to learn from their parents before being exposed to formal education. Recent times expose children in their early developmental stage to formal education. In my opinion, I believe that a child in his formative years should be educated at home.

It is advantageous for a child to be taught at home by the parents and family members; this will expose the child to the norms of the society, the beliefs and ethics of the family. Here, the child grows up within the family and is taught to trust and have confidence in others. On the other hand, sending a child to school away from his immediate and extended family also has advantages. It helps to groom the child to associate with children from different backgrounds and also prepares the child to deal with situations outside his family.

However, when a child grows up learning from his parents in his early stage of development, it would boost his confidence as children trust their parents more. It will also help to prepare the child to handle some of the disciplinary measures he will encounter when he finally goes to school for formal education. The reason being that he has been prepared to accept discipline as part of training.

In conclusion,teaching a child in the home or at school depends largely on the circumstances surrounding the situation. If for instance the parents need to work to provide for the child, then it will be necessary for the child to go to school no matter how early it might be.