Some people believe that there should be a fixed punishment for each type of crime. Others, however, agree that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In order to maintain peace and order, every society has laws to deter any criminal activity. Many think that every offense should have a corresponding predetermined penalty while others think that surrounding circumstances should be weighed first before a punishment can be implemented. In my opinion, although the first statement might be an effective way of punishing wrongdoers, considering all factors would be a better way of serving justice.

In the first view, implementing set penalties favor victims because of the likelihood that the criminals will receive the full weight of the law. Additionally, by removing other things that could complicate the case, trials will be shorter. For example, a murder trial that usually takes years to decide might get resolution within weeks or months. Hence, criminal courts will then have fewer backlogs and will be able to cater justice to more people.

On the other hand, examining the circumstances surrounding the case gives the offenders a chance to defend themselves. By taking into account both sides and understanding all merits, the information gathered can be used to formulate better legislation. Likewise, knowing the motivations could also lead to changes that may better the situation of the victim or their families. For example, if the motivation is aggression in school or workplace, then rules can be formulated to prevent this from happening again. Also, by weighing all factors, it is more likely to lead to a just decision that will satisfy both parties.

In summary, implementing sentences without considering all things that affect a case is a false sense of justice. Also, knowledge gain from this system will help create better laws that will protect all members of the society.