Some people believe that they should be able to keep all the money they earn, and should not have to pay tax to the state.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are variegated opinions about whether people should enjoy exclusive possession of their earnings. While a school of thought opine that individuals have all their income to themselves, another category of persons hold sway to the fact that such accrual be subjected to taxation. I completely disagree with members of the public keeping what they earn because tax is a medium of revenue generation and used for developmental project of the government.

To begin with, there are various reasons for taxing the populace and the most probable of these is revenue generation. Government cannot function without money, hence, to meet its fiscal allocation for the year, it must make money, and one of the ways it can do this is by collecting taxes and rates from citizens. In fact, the mainstay of any economy is from taxation, either personal income tax, value added tax or other forms of taxation. For example, the government of Lagos State, has been function without federal allocation as a result of the internally generated revenue from companies and civil servants.

Furthermore, while it is true that by keeping all they earn, the masses meet their insatiable personal needs, it is also important to note that, government use such charges for growth and development. The priority of every nation is to provide basic social amenities for the people, and it can only achieve these daunting tasks through taxation. To illustrate this, the successive administrations in Nigeria are assessed based on how tax payers money are used to build social infrastructures to benefit the electorate. Also, the people have an obligation to pay taxes, which will in turn confer on the government the responsibility to function in line with the goal of creating sustainable development.

To conclude, it is true that as humans, we want to enjoy the fruit of our labour without restraint, but this would not spell well for the state, hence, it is my opinion that taxing such earnings is a vital source of money to government and meeting its developmental duties.