Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programs (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports for younger children).

To what extend do you agree of disagree?

As one of the most vital elements leading to students’ success, non-profit community service should always be the most significant part of high school organizations. However, there is an existing idea that these extracurricular activities can distract pupils from studying. Whether, adding community service to programs is a prevalent topic. Pondering upon this issue, I hold strong interest on putting volunteer works into agenda.

First and foremost, a much more successful future recruitment is what I put in my priority. Admittedly, in short term, unpaid jobs for community organizations take up some time of students to spend on school’s assignments. However, if considering this in long-sighted perspective, students participating in non-profit community activities will guarantee more success in employment. Therefore, with sufficient life experiences, work and negotiation skills gained, pupils are offered high chance to be selected in top universities become more competitive in job markets after graduation. Thanks to establishing volunteer service in schools’ programs, students will inaugurate these skills into practice, which potentially make them dominant in modern working world. Beyond any doubt, unpaid community works enable students to attain more secured successful recruitment.

The further point to be bear in mind is that community service inculcates students’ sense of responsibility and empathy towards society, which essentially shape their strong and independent personality and aptitudes. After helping disadvantaged ones, pupils are bound to realize how valuable and meaningful the life is. As a result, there will be more attentions to special groups in the future. Furthermore, due to non-profit volunteer works for community, students are able to refrain from committing with irresponsible behaviors. By and large, empathy and responsibility are irrefutable advantages that community service brings.

In conclusion, successful employment and building better characteristics are tenable reasons for my preference. Taking my analysis into meticulous consideration, I believe that schools should add more volunteer extracurricular activities into compulsory agenda.