Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbor hood or teaching sports to younger children).

to what extent do you agree or disagree?

Community service should be a mandatory part of high school programmes for some people. I strongly disagree with the idea of this method, because students should start to try to earn some money on their own, and with community services opening up jobs that grants money, students will put more effort to it.

Some high school students do love community services, it is one of the needs to support their resume, but not all students enjoy doing community services. When a charity event is being hosted, there will be some high school students who will participate, and it is because they enjoy doing it, but if community services such as a charity event is a compulsory programme for all high school students, the event will not be as smooth as it should be, because it is done by some students who doesn't have the passion to do so.

Passion is one of the not so little things that we need in our life, but it is important, if we are willing to sacrifice our time for it, we will be excellent in it. Take teaching for instance, where high school students are volunteering to teach younger children in many different aspects which they are good at, but if all students are forced to do that as a mandatory programme, instead of teaching the younger children, it will do more harm than good.

In conclusion, although some people think that community services are needed to be a necessary programme, it is highly unlikely that students will reject and even protest to these ideas.