Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programs (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

While in the past educational centers used to have only scientific functions, today students in some part of the world are encouraged to provide society with some kind of free works during school time. I agree that such a policy would be efficient for both adolescents and society.

Doing social activities, like helping elderly purchasing their daily necessities, would be a way to compensate the budget invested on educational entities. In most countries, government pays a vast amount of annual budget for facilitating children’s teaching process. It means that all people of a country are indirectly contributing students to earn their degree. Giving services to other citizens could be a way to appreciate all facilities provided for boys and girls in high school.

Besides, it would be a proper upbringing and leads to growing youth up. Making students doing works for community for free, get them familiar with taking responsibility, as a result of which can prepare them for the problems and responsibilities they have to take in their future life when they live independently.

Nevertheless, do measure like teaching younger kids or collecting money for homeless people, which are substantially volunteer actions, by force of the school might have negative outcomes as well. Compulsory practices usually results in reluctancy for whose do them.

In conclusion, I personally agree with the compulsory free community services to be a section of students’ high school programs, since it can pays back the money of national resources spent on educational goals, and teenagers could be taught lessons about taking responsibility and being a good member of society.