Some people believe that young peop who comit seriuos crimes should be punished in the same way as adutls. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, the juvenile delinquency rate is increasing globally. To prevent this status, some people claim that minors should be punished as adults would be. From my point of view, I strongly disagree with stronger punishments applying to young offenders. In this essay, I will try to demonstrate reasons why people support heavier sentences and state my viewpoints.

To begin with, while the leniency of law makes youngsters underestimating the seriousness of committing a crime, some individuals might think stronger punishments are efficient ways to decline juvenile delinquency rate, which causing fear to wrong doers. Besides that, it is possible that adults can manipulate and persuade young people to commit a crime thanks to the less impact regarding the punishments for youngsters.

However, there are more effective alternative methods to decrease crime rate in young people. For instance, concentrating on education about crime within families and social is one of the permanent ways. Juveniles are impulsive and easy to imitate actions that they might watch on televisions and the internet. Hence, juveniles, who do not have mature thought, are easy to break the law without considering its after consequences. Lenient punishments give young people another chance to correct their behaviours and start a new life that more useful to the community. Regarding manipulation, policeman and courts have the responsibility to clarify every aspect of a crime; therefore, every offender will take appropriate punishments.

In conclusion, I believe that every crime should have appropriate sentences. However, because of the different natures between youngsters and adults, they should not be punished in the same way.