If people go to live in a new country, they should follow local customs and traditions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As a part of globalisation era, many people migrate to another country to work and settle down. There are some conflicts opinions about how immigrants should follow local cultures. From my point of view, while I agree that people should conserve their old traditions, I believe that they need to follow the new local customs and traditions.

On the one hand, cultures are a part of individuals' identity; conserving their own traditions is a self-awareness and reminder about their existence, origin and history. Besides that, every culture has its own advantages, such as in the way parents grow their children; keeping and promoting those advantages might have benefits in certain circumstances. Moreover, conserving customs and traditions in new regions are contributing spreading their culture to the world; while nowadays, it is evident that people around the world respect and welcome cultural diversity.

On the other hand, to integrate with new environment quickly, people should follow local customs and traditions, which its values have been developed for a long time to satisfy local generations. Hence, its disputable values is a worthy reason to catch the local lifestyle. What is more, following the local traditions is a sign of respect to natives. As a result, locals will be easier to contact and build networks with, which is one of the fundamental factors that help people settle down on a new area steadily and rapidly.

In conclusion, I think people should conserve their own tradition when going to live in a new place; however, I strongly support them to follow the natives' customs and traditions.