Some people choose to have their first child at an older age. What are the reasons? Do advantages outweight disadvantages?

There is a modern tendency that people prefer having children later in life. The underlying reasons for this trend are varied, and, from my standpoint, the merits would eclipse the downsides.

There are two main explanations for the decision of procrastinating childbirth. The first one is that modern people having values the role of their work and freedom over that of stabilizing their family. It is clear that having children at an early age would result in a lot of obstacles to their job performance and life quality. For example, instead of relaxing after a stress working day, young parents have to spend their treasure time on looking after the children. Further reason including the benefit of strengthening their financial resources before giving birth. Children, therefore, would live in a more sufficient environment.

On the other hand, its drawbacks should not be overlooked. First, childbirth in an older age might influence on their future children’s health. The scientists pointed out that more than one percent of those children suffer from not only mental diseases but also unusual body development. As a matter of fact, if this trend obtains more popularity among the young generation, it will act as a catalyst for population aging in the near future. In other words, it would lead to a significant damage economic structure due to the imbalance in the workforce.

In conclusion, the two principal reasons for this phenomenon can be seen as the importance of modern work and family finance. In my opinion, although its disadvantages are severe, I am convinced that the advantages are of more significance.