Some people choose to have their first child at an older age. What are the reasons? Do advantages outweigh disadvantages?

There is a growing population in our society who have intention of delaying to have kids until later of life. This phenomenon can be derived from a variety of underlying reasons, but from my viewpoint, the merits of the situation certainly eclipses drawbacks that it brings.

There are two main factors leading to the decision of childbirth hesitation. Firstly, versality, creativity and independency are the salient characteristics of nowadays young generation, which encourage them to pursue their passions or dream jobs. The propensity for prioritizing their careers over taking parental roles can be seen in both genders. Especially, in developed countries such as Japan, men and women will not commence a marriage without adequate economic potential and maturity because of their demand for stabilization that has become so scarce these days. Secondly, modern individuals have adopted the fear of taking unwanted custody due to the recent alarming rate of divorce. The problem can be traced to the increasing number of premature married couples, who usually encounter the doubt of marital harmony, deterring the desire for raising a child. There would be, consequently, fewer kids growing up without fatherhood or motherhood.

However, the benefits of the phenomenon should not be inflated. That too many couples following such trend might exert adverse effects on the population structure, in particular, future workforce will be reduced and social developing process will be hindered in the long term. Additionally, the infertility that mothers usually meet in their old age can be derived from the delay of childbirth, which heightens the possibility of new child born with mental or physical disabilities. Down syndrome could be a noticeable example of disease that born child can get from childbirth hesitated mother.

In conclusion, the occupational prioritization and the hesitation over the likelihood of single-parent responsibility could be seen as the root of late childbirth, and I am convinced that the benefits are of more significance.