Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

In recent years, the amount of household waste recycled is relatively limited. While I agree with the view that authorities should make legal requirements to encourage people to reuse, I do not think this is the only method that governments can do to address the problem.

First and foremost, enacting a recycling law can be an effective way to improve the environment. After using plastic or aluminum bottles, people have a tendency to throw them away because it is much faster than recycling. People often think it will take their time if they have to wash the cans and crush them to recycle. Therefore, imposing legal restrictions would highly motivated citizens to adopt a more responsible attitude to reuse. Because if they are not self-conscious to do it, they could be punished or even imprisoned for repeated offenders. As a result, recycling laws will contribute to a cleaner and fresher environment.

On the other hand, the authority could take other appropriate measures in addition to punishment. Firstly, the state can offer some rewards or discount tickets for people who recycle many times. Take China as an example; residents in this country will exchange their reused products for music tickets. This helps the country cut down a large amount of their household waste output. Besides, the government can raise people’s awareness through education. For example, children should be properly taught about the crucial role of recycling in preserving the environment and how to convert waste into usable products.

In conclusion, governments do need to enact legal requirements but this is not the only viable solution. They can reward their residents or focus on education as an alternative approach.